The Eurozone in numbers

Public debt, in billions of euros, fourth quarter 2011

The 17-nation euro zone is a collection of countries with vastly different economic profiles. Far from stimulating “convergence” toward a single economy, the eurozone has perpetuated divergence.  Despite the predominance in the mainstream that Greece, Ireland and Portugal should be punished for deviating from the Maastricht rules these graphics show that the majority of countries are well beyond the 3% deficit and 60% debt threshold ratios.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: